Tags

, , ,

Today I was given the opportunity to have time to myself while my man took the munchkins to the park. So I got myself together with my purse newly adjusted to fit closer to my body (because it’ll be a prime pickpocketing event like yesterday’s subway ride) and headed to the Champs Elysees to check out the Tour de France. The kids and I have caught glimpses of the races daily on tv and today, it ends in laps along the Champs. Will I be able to see anything?

The view from here. Can you see the monitor?

When I reached the Rond Point des Champs-Elysees junction, it was about 7 bodies thick from the gates and there was a large monitor accompanying live commentary of the cyclists–where they were on the course, I had no idea. So I wandered up the grand boulevard towards the Arc de Triomphe but bodies got thicker at this point. (I noticed a lot of young children and babies strolled around at this event. I’m still trying to figure out the logic in that.)

The final lap down the Champs-Elysees

Well to sum up, somehow, little 5 ft me went from 7 bodies from the outside to nearly first at the gate when cyclists came round for their 4th lap. I couldn’t believe my luck (and my purse was tightly held to my side)!! To see them on television is exciting enough but to have pro-cyclists flash by you with such speed is pure exhilaration.  I would never have thought I’d be here witnessing the world’s best bike race. Thanks Chris!!

http://www.flickr.com/photos/77766177@N02/6930231812/in/photostream

