Tags

, , , ,

This is the sound that ended my afternoon at the Trocadero fountains today, as the kids and I visited it to say goodbye. (We soon leave for England to visit relatives for a few weeks.)

Side vista from Palais de Chaillot. See Napoleon's Dome and Montmartre in the distance?

My husband walks by the Trocadero/Palais de Chaillot on the way to work each day and has told me of the breathtaking view that reminds him how wonderful it is to be in Paris. So, this afternoon, the kids and I walked over to view the Eiffel Tower framed by the Palais aperture, plus a panorama of everything else: Napoleon’s Dome, Montmartre just behind it, Montparnasse Tower behind the Eiffel—who was the genius that designed this city?! (No worries, my hubby will tell me.) There were throngs of people enjoying the same vista so we decided to visit our favourite fountains below the Palais.

Halfway down the Palais de Chaillot, overlooking the Trocadero fountains

This time we were perched right beside the water canons and after warning my children NOT to walk on the ledge (as my boy did last time, much to my palpitating heart’s discontent), they dipped their legs into the basin of cold, swirling water. The canons went off which was quite exciting and very powerful. The water in the basins are actively sucked in by visible pipes to operate in the jetting of the fountains.

Canons jetting off huge arcs of water at the Trocadero fountains

At this point, my son had this silly idea of washing his (fake) crocs in the basin. My immediate response was, “NO, don’t do that!” but too late, one sandal was already being washed with glee. But before you could say, “What the —-?” by the grace of God, the other shoe just tumbled into the water and floated into the water-sucking pipe, making that horrific sound as it disappeared into the depths of Trocadero doom.

“My SHOE!!”  my son cried.

“It’s GONE!” I barked back. I felt like I was in a war zone. The noise from the water canons were so loud. So my boy broke down and wailed, “I-WANT-MY-SHOE-BACK!!!”

Shoeless William

Poor kid. He cried *hard* for 5 minutes. He hobbled with one bare foot down the Trocadero hill before we asked Clarisse to walk so William could sit in the stroller and not step on any nasty stuff on the sidewalk. I’m still puzzled at how emotional my son becomes in these moments. But upon retelling the incident to my husband, he responded, “Well, how would you feel if you lost your shoe?” He’s right. I just hope those water canons are still working and not clogged up by a flimsy fake croc from Walmart.

