Tags

, , , , , ,

The second "strike" note. After three strikes, is he out?

Clarisse’s teacher will be on strike AGAIN. One day, just him. He first went on strike back in October this school year as well, for a day. How effective is that, to go on strike ALONE, for one day?!  It does inconvenience working parents who must scramble to find alternate arrangements for their kid(s). At least the teacher gives us parents a warning. BUT, he has been sick a lot this year too (I think it’s his first year teaching; my hubby suspects the teacher hasn’t developed his immunity to all the sick children roaming around his classroom) and I know because I frequently greet la directrice (=the principal) in the classroom while she waits for the substitute teacher to arrive while overseeing the assistant who is alone to manage the 20+ kiddies in the room. Ooh-la-la.

When I first received the note from her teacher, I just nodded and replied, “D’accord,” (=OK) —having NO CLUE what it said. Then I ran home and used the computer to translate on-line (as usual: this is part of my daily routine).

” La grève” means “strike.” Remember I mentioned “Place de Grève,” the site in front of l’Hotel de Ville (Paris’ City Hall) where folks got their heads guillotined near the banks of Le Seine river?! Place de Grève means “flat area covered with gravel or sand” according to http://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/gr%C3%A8ve   It’s also where the unemployed people would gather to seek work. I’m not sure how seeking work and going on strike relate but I do know that you’ve got a lot of unhappy campers hanging out and watching other heads roll…

L'hotel de Ville in the winter time. Can you imagine unhappy people here, let alone a guillotine show on the opposite side of the carrousel and skating rink?!

I am intrigued about the number of strikes that happen in France. The train folks and the airport workers really have the country by the throat when they strike during vacation times (and there are A LOT of those). But it’s a right that the French exercise often, and without violence, so I’m all for civility. It’s either that or a duel  [i.e. fencing or “l’escrime”]—which was an extracurricular option at my kids’ school for grades two and up!  Touché!!

